Communications

Access to reliable communications is critical in today’s world, but in rural areas, access to high-speed communications is limited, creating a digital divide between rural and urban consumers that rural providers are striving to overcome—many with financial support from CoBank.

170

Communications Customers

$4.5B

Loan Commitments

100+

Years Combined Communications Experience

For decades, CoBank has provided loans and leases to the full range of telecommunications providers: incumbent local exchange carriers, competitive local exchange carriers, wireless and cable companies, data centers, and tower and fiber companies.

Our suite of loan products has enabled telecommunications companies to bring broadband fiber to the home, upgrade their networks and expand to serve new territories. From direct loans to accessing capital markets, we work with customers of all sizes to deliver the financing they need.

We’ve been serving the communications industry for more than 30 years and have developed deep expertise in its challenges and opportunities. We also know that your needs are ever-evolving, and so we work with our customers to adjust terms as needed throughout the life of the loan.

We have a lot of confidence in CoBank. They understand our industry and have been there for us for an awfully long time.

– John Woody, CEO, Union Wireless

Industry Expertise

As active members of the communications industry, we provide financial support to national organizations including NTCA – The Rural Broadband Association, the Western Telecommunications Alliance and the Telergee Alliance, as well as many statewide telecommunications associations.

 

Financial Solutions

 

Term Loans

with maturities up to 30 years

Debt Refinancing

short-term construction financing and interim financing

Leasing

 

Lines of Credit

Capital Markets

Interest Risk Management

We chose CoBank because of its understanding of small rural community businesses, experience in the regional wireless space, and its reputation in the industry.

– Slayton Stewart, CEO, Carolina West Wireless

Recent Knowledge Exchange Reports

Contact

Ted Koerner
303-740-6461
koernet@cobank.com
Lennie Blakeslee
303-740-4191
blakesl@cobank.com
CO, ID, MT, OK, TX, WY
Jacqueline Bove
303-740-4037
jbove@cobank.com
MI, MN, WI
Guy Franke
770-618-3229
gfranke@cobank.com
CT, MA, ME, NH, NJ, NY, OH, PA, RI, VT
Parish Fruge
303-740-4370
pfruge@cobank.com
AZ, ND, NM, SD
Gloria Hancock
770-618-3212
hancockg@cobank.com
AR, DE, MD, NC, SC, VA, WV
Kevin Oliver
770-618-3214
koliver@cobank.com
AL, GA, FL, KY, MS, TN
Andy Smith
770-618-3260
smitha@cobank.com
IL, IN, KS, LA, MO, NE
Robbie Wallace
303-740-6515
rwallace@cobank.com
AK, CA, IA, NV, OR, UT, WA